Jeff Harris Travels

In Valencia

leave a comment »

I’ve made it to Valencia.

I just got in from grocery shopping. I bought some potato cake (like the Señora made… or did she?!), corn flakes, hamburgers (I’m slightly embarrassed to say), some crackers, ketchup (I bought the cheap brand and not Heinz. It was tempting). I forgot milk for the corn flakes. But the store is about 1 minute away, so no biggie.

Last night, before leaving for the train, my roommate Matt and I were forced fed (practically). The señora always made great food, but the quantity she made it in was always over the top. It will be nice to eat at my own pace now. I’ll miss Granada, but I think I’m ready for life in Valencia.

So I arrived in Valencia at about 5:30 this morning. It was about 9ºC (48.2ºF), but it definitely felt colder. After sitting around in the train station and skyping (I made it a verb) with Madre and watching some Spain shows on my iPod, I headed by taxi to my apartment on Calle de Santos Justo y Pastor.

I have one German roommate, a girl named Igna. There’s a German guy who’s leaving on Sunday. Two Peruvian girls are coming on Sunday, the same day I’ll be moving into a larger, more quiet room. Right now I have the room closest to the door and next door neighbor…

At about 4 or so, as I was attempting to take a cat nap, loud music started playing. Then screaming started. Then things started to be thrown. The screaming got louder, the music got louder, and the wall was vibrating. My roommates came to see what was up. Supposedly the neighbor sometimes flips out and starts singing really loud and yelling. He kept repeating “¡Olé!” I was more entertained than scared, but it was ridiculous. The cops and paramedics showed up (peep hole video below).

I also made another video. It shows about half of my (last) walk to the apartment from school in Granada. It’s made up of about 600 photos.

Also today, I registered with the Universidad Politécnica de Valencia’s Bellas Artes (Fine Arts) department. I won’t find out what my schedule will be like until Tuesday, at the earliest, after I pick up my ID and supplement information and attempt to sign up for classes online. I have until February 16 to finalize the schedule.

Written by Jeff

January 30, 2009 at 12:50 pm

Leave a Reply

