Jeff Harris Travels

On the Eve of St. Paddy’s Day

leave a comment »

I made it to Dublin yesterday (Sunday) after missing my flight after misplacing my passport in Madrid on Saturday, before the flight to Dublin. I still do not know when or how I lost it, but somehow it was found. It was an absentminded mistake that hopefully will never happen again. But it was also a miracle that it was found. I probably wouldn’t have been able to make it to Dublin and would have needed to get a new passport and student visa. S*** happens, I guess.

Anyway, I arrived in Dublin on Sunday evening. I went out for a walk to the city center and found a Mexican restaurant for dinner. That was about the extent of my activities for Sunday.

Today, I bought a tour bus pass that allows riders and hop on and hop off to see different sights around Dublin. I checked out St. Stephen’s Green, which is a park near the city center. I also visited Phoenix Park where the largest obelisk in the European Union is located. St. Patrick’s Cathedral was also one of the stops I got off at. It was definitely interesting to see such an old cathedral. Supposedly the author of Gulliver’s Travels is buried there, but I missed anything regarding that.

Tomorrow’s the big day! St. Patrick’s Day!! The parade is at noon. I plan on making it to the Guinness Brewery for the Storehouse tour that I’ve already booked. I’m sure it will be a madhouse!

St Stephen's Green
St. Stephen’s Green

Click the link below to view some photos from today.

People in Dublin

O'Conell Street

People in Dublin

Leinster Flag

River Liffey

Not Guinness
Not Guinness

People in Dublin

People in Dublin

People in Dublin

People in Dublin

Daniel O'Connell, The Liberator
Daniel O’Connell, The Liberator

People in Dublin

St Stephen's Green

Dublin Bus Tour
The bus I rode on

St. Patrick's Cathedral

St. Patrick's Cathedral

St. Patrick's Cathedral

St. Patrick's Cathedral

St. Patrick
Saint Patrick

Wellington Monument
Second in height to the Washington Monument in DC

Phoenix Park

Leeson Street

Car Shop

To Let
To let = To rent?

The Burlington
My hotel

Day 56
TVs in the elevators (Sorry, I mean lifts)

Written by Jeff

March 16, 2009 at 3:49 pm

Leave a Reply

