Jeff Harris Travels

Bioparc Visit

leave a comment »

On Friday I took the number 5 train to the Nou d’ Octobre area of the city. I wonder what happened on the ninth of October for them to name an neighborhood (or at least a metro station) that. Anyway, the point of the subway ride was to get to the Bioparc, Valencia’s zoo.

Valencia’s zoo is less about cages and more about open space for the animals to roam. Despite this, of course, they are still in captivity. The zoo has two parts, an Madagascar species zone and, the remainder, an area for species from the continent of Africa.

I’m not sure if it was worth the 21€, because I found myself questioning whether I had seen the whole zoo once I got back to where I started. But, according the map and the animal silhouettes on it, I saw all there was to be seen.

Click the link below to view some photos. Video to come next week.

Bioparc
A lemur, I believe

Bioparc
Lemur tree

Bioparc

Bioparc
Hippos

Bioparc

Bioparc
Us humans should start something like this.

Bioparc

Bioparc
This area smelled not so great.

Bioparc

Bioparc

Hog/Chimp
Hog/Chimp hybrid

Bioparc
I found it to be interesting that he/she was eating a pepper.

Gorilla

I think he/she was eating some kind of melon, not cheese puffs.

Bioparc
Sleepy creature

Bioparc
Kinda cute, except for the smell.

Elephant
Everybody Poops

Elephant

Bathing Elephant
It was pretty warm yesterday, in the high 70s. I was getting mighty jealous of these elephants.

Bioparc Bottle
I witnessed a boy in an out-of-control school group throw that bottle into the elephants’ water. If you hear about an elephant dying in Valencia, you’ll know why.

Bioparc

Bioparc

Giraffe

Giraffe
I wish I knew why this giraffe was making out with the grass.

Bioparc Lion
Este león está durmiendo. This lion is sleeping.

Bioparc rhino
Rhino

Pygmy Mongoose
I think these pygmy mongooses (not mongeese, by the way) were my favorite of all the animals.

Bioparc
For the end, a big bird’s butt

View from the Bioparc Bridge

Bioparc Bridge
Here’s the bridge one must cross to get to the Bioparc.

Bioparc Sign

View from the Bioparc Bridge
Manmade hill. Probably one of the highest points in Valencia.

Swan Lake
View from the top of the hill.

Written by Jeff

March 28, 2009 at 7:34 am

Posted in Photos, Spain, Valencia

Leave a Reply

